So, you have some questions about getting your support badge from the Medical Marijuana Enforcement Division…
Well allow me, Pittsburgh D, to answer those chronically frustrating questions for you!!
“D, I just moved to Colorado and I’m wondering how to get involved in the medical marijuana industry?”
Well, the first requirement is that all applicants must be Colorado residents, 21 years of age or older.
“D, you know that I am over 21!! What must I do to be a Colorado resident?!”
I’m glad that you asked. You must meet one of the following criteria to obtain Colorado residency:
• Own or operate a business in Colorado
• Obtain employment in Colorado
• Reside in Colorado for 90 days, continuously
“What are you smokin’, D?! Didn’t you hear me?! I just moved here!!”
Just relax, if you don’t want to wait for 90 days, then here is my advice: find a job…ANY JOB!! The state needs proof that you stimulated Colorado’s revenue with income in the form of tax dollars through honest employment.
Also, I have heard of a few instances in which a Colorado resident had to provide additional information to verify residency, or even U.S. citizenship. The main issue with validating Colorado residency is when an applicant’s address differs on their driver’s license or identification card than the address of their current residence. Whether your ID is from Colorado or another state, you must provide current proof of address in the form of a:
• Housing lease
• Public service bill (electric/gas bill)
• Credit card bill
• Telephone bill
“Who has a LAN line anyways, D?! I was wondering what does the MMED needs from me, if I was born overseas?”
On the chance that you were born abroad on a U.S. military base, you must provide a birth certificate!!
• If you are a U.S. citizen, you must provide proof of naturalization.
• If you are non U.S. citizen, you must provide a green card or passport that proves you are lawfully present in the United States.
“D! I was born here in Colorado and I am over the age of 21!! What is the deal with the criminal background check?! I have a misdemeanor offense on my criminal record. Can I work in the medical marijuana industry?!”
I was hoping that someone would ask this question…
That is a question to ask the Medical Marijuana Enforcement Division, directly, but I can tell you what criminal offenses get denied by the MMED!!
From my understanding…
If you have a drug-related felony on your criminal record, then your application will be denied by the Medical Marijuana Enforcement Division!!
“You didn’t answer my question, D!! What do I need to do in order to work in the medical marijuana industry?!”
The MMED checks your criminal background for the past 10 years!! If you were ticketed, booked, or arrested by the authorities in the past ten years, then you need to contact the court clerk of where the proceedings occurred and acquire a disposition. Any documentation that you submit to the Medical Marijuana Enforcement Division should be a COPY of the original document!!
“Do I need a disposition for a petty offense, D?!”
This is the exact quotation from the application:
In the last 10 years have you ever been arrested, served with a criminal summons, charged with, or convicted of ANY non-drug or non-narcotic related crime or offense in any manner in this or any other country?
• You must include ALL arrests, charges, and convictions in the last 10 years, but not prior to the age of 18, regardless of the outcome, even if the charges were dismissed or you were found not guilty.
• You must include ALL arrests, charges, and convictions regardless of the class of crime (felonies, misdemeanors, and/or petty offenses).
• You must include ALL serious traffic offenses, including DUI; DWAI; reckless driving; leaving the scene of an accident (hit and run); driving under denial, suspension or revocation; or any other offense which resulted in your being taken into custody.
• NOTICE: Do not rely upon your understanding that an arrest or charge is “not supposed to be on your record.” A criminal record was not cleared, erased, sealed or expunged unless you were given, and have in your possession, a written order from a judge directing that action.
*If you answered YES, explain in detail on the sheet provided. For each offense for which you were arrested or charged, YOU MUST OBTAIN OF¬FICIAL DOCUMENTATION FROM THE COURT WHERE YOU APPEARED, SHOWING THE FINAL DISPOSITION (OUTCOME) OF YOUR CASE. This information will include whether you were found guilty or not guilty; and the penalty (money fine, time in jail or prison, or probation or deferred sentence). If you received a deferred judgment, a deferred sentence, or probation, your documentation must include the date that you were dis¬charged or released from probation or other supervision.
My personal advice to those of you who may under estimate the strict regulations of the MMED is to error on the side of caution…every side of caution!! This is your first step into a new career that is heavily scrutinized by the federal government; you must be prepared for anything and everything at all times.
“Thanks for the tip, D! But, my question for you is about the financial background check. I am delinquent on my student loan! Will my application get denied, even if I pass the criminal background check?”
No! Your application will be held pending until you establish a payment process with your debtors!!
“So, how do I do this, D? Can anything else in my financial background stop me from completing my application process?”
Yes! In addition to delinquent accounts with student loan agencies…unpaid back taxes and child support payments will place your application in pending status. How do you get started you ask…pick up the phone!!
• If you owe student loan agencies, call their office and establish a payment plan!
• If you owe in unpaid back taxes, call the Internal Revenue Service!
• If you owe in unpaid child support, call your baby’s momma or baby’s daddy!
“Okay, D! I took your advice, called my baby’s momma and I established a payment plan. I am current on all my payments, but how much does a support badge from the MMED cost?”
A support badge from the MMED will cost $75.00. You must pay by cash, check, or money order.
The MMED does not accept credit cards!!!
“Where do I need to go, D? How do I schedule an appointment with the MMED?”
The MMED has two locations in Denver and Fort Collins. You can call the MMED from 8 AM to 5 PM at both locations, but licensing is by appointment only between the hours of 9 AM and 2 PM. There is about a 3-week wait at the Denver location, and 7-10 days wait at the Fort Collins location. The Denver office is located at 455 Sherman St. Suite 390, Denver, CO 80203. Their phone number is (303) 205-8421. The Fort Collins office is located at 3030 S. College Ave. Suite 102, Denver, CO 80525. Their phone number is (970) 204-7690.
“Where do I go to get an application from the MMED?”
You can go to Colorado’s Department of Revenue’s website at http://http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&childpagename=Rev-Enforcement%2FRELayout&cid=1251575120096&pagename=REWrapper and print an application.
“Once, I finally get my support badge from the MMED… How do I get a job?”
There are many different avenues to pursue in order to obtain employment in Colorado’s Medical Marijuana Industry. A support badge allows you to contract out your work in the MMJ industry. I suggest to anyone…be very diligent and tenacious when seeking employment in any field of this industry. You are competing against many potential candidates. So, be prepared for an uphill battle when applying for certain positions.
“OK, D! I sat through this whole thing being as quiet as a church mouse!! I have submitted my resume to many businesses in the MMJ industry…but, I have never heard anything back?! What answers do you have for me?! What more do I need to do to get a career in the medical marijuana industry?!”
Check out my next blog!!!
I will be sharing a few tips to make your first impression to businesses in the MMJ industry stand out among the competition!
Feel free to leave comments and share with your friends:)